5K training in 4 weeks

I’m planning on running the Red Flannel Run in February and needed a training program since it’s been awhile since I’ve been running consistently. I googled 4 week programs and found this and it looked easy enough, so I thought I’d try it. I am mostly looking for something to get me back into the grove of running more than once a week. It’d be nice to get a PR, but right now I feel great just getting out and moving. This is what the next 4 weeks look like for me.

Week 1:

Monday: 1.5 miles
Tuesday: 1 mile
Wednesday: Rest
Thursday: 1.5 miles
Friday: Rest
Saturday: 2 miles
Sunday: Rest

Week 2:

Monday: 3 miles
Tuesday: 1 mile
Wednesday: Rest
Thursday: .5 mile (2 track laps) warm up, 4x400meters (1 lap) – 3 minutes rest between each, .5 mile cool down
Friday: 2 miles
Saturday: Rest
Sunday: 4 miles

Week 3:

Monday: 1 mile
Tuesday: Rest
Wednesday: .5 mile (2 track laps) warm up, 4x600meters (1 ½ lap) – 3 minutes rest between each, .5 mile cool down
Thursday: 3 miles
Friday: Rest
Saturday: 2 miles
Sunday: 4 miles

Week 4:

Monday: 3 miles
Tuesday: Rest
Wednesday: .5 mile (2 track laps) warm up, 4×200 meters ( ½ lap) – 1 ½ minutes rest between each, .5 mile cool down
Thursday: Rest
Friday: 1 mile/rest (easy recovery)
Saturday: RACE DAY

3 thoughts on “5K training in 4 weeks

  1. Pingback: morning treadmill run « runbobbierun

  2. Pingback: sicky don’t run « runbobbierun

  3. Pingback: as promised…race update! « run.bobbie.run

Thanks for stopping! I love to hear your comments :)

