morning treadmill run

Well it finally happened. Since Kiddo came along I swore I wouldn’t have to get up in the morning before 8:00 7:30 7:00, but today I was up at 6:00. There are two reasons for this. This week we are rabbit sitting and I decided it would be best to check on them before Kiddo wakes up at 7:00 so that Paul could be home with him. (Rebecca, in case you’re reading, the rabbits are doing well. I gave them carrots and they were very happy about that). I also decided that I could get my run done during that time before Kiddo woke up.

That last part didn’t happen exactly as I planned. I was all geared up to head straight down to the treadmill as soon as I got home. I was actually happy to run on the treadmill today, even though I usually prefer to run outside. I finally got new shoes and wanted to give them a try. It snowed a bit last week and I wanted to wait until it had cleared out before taking them on the road, so I was happy to give the treadmill a go.

However, when I walked in the door at 6:40, someone was crying. It was probably for the best. One thing I had not anticipated was the more endowed physical features my body takes on first thing in the morning. Sorry if that’s not descriptive enough. Basically, since I had not fed Kiddo at this point, I was looking a bit more like Pamela Anderson than usual. So, I decided to feed him first, then we headed downstairs and hit the ‘mill.

Today also marked the first day of 5K training. I decided start from scratch since it’s been awhile since I’ve run consistently. Today’s plan was for 1.5 miles at an easy run/walk pace. I don’t know if it’s me or the treadmill, but I never do very well on it. Of course today wasn’t much of an exception and, although I ran the whole time, it still took me 18:15 to complete the run.

After my run I got the cat out from under the treadmill and we headed back upstairs to get ready for nap time. I decided to try making an iced-coffee-protein-shake since it was breakfast time, but I had just finished running (and we don’t have any chocolate milk). I don’t really have a recipe, but here are the ingredients:

  • Coffee, brewed and cold
  • Protein powder (I tried half vanilla/half chocolate, but I think I’d do just vanilla next time)
  • Milk or coffee creamer
  • Sugar or sweetener

Mix it all in the blender and voilà – look at all that foamy goodness! I actually made quite a lot so next time I won’t make so much, because I don’t think I’ll be able to finish it all.

2 thoughts on “morning treadmill run

  1. Pingback: maiden voyage « runbobbierun

Thanks for stopping! I love to hear your comments :)

