maiden voyage

So I went ahead and got new shoes. After I reached 300+ miles on my Asics, I decided I needed to try something new. I headed to the mall in search of the right fit.

After receiving NO help at Foot Locker, I stopped at a smaller shoe store in our mall. Unfortunately, neither store had the specific Mizuno model I was looking for (Wave Inspire 8). The guy I talked to at the smaller store was much more helpful and had me try on the Precision 11 model. I’m not sure if he was hitting on me on purpose or if it was part of his sales strategy (I needed the ego boost either way). I really liked how the shoes felt. They offer a lot of support, but you can still wiggle your toes. My Asics have given me blisters on long runs, so hopefully that won’t be a problem with these.

Of course I wanted to think about it some more before buying the shoes, so I checked another shoe store and looked around online a bit. I compared the Precision 11 with the Precision 12, and ultimately ended up buying the 11s because of the price. Since this is my first pair of Mizunos I wanted to make sure I liked them before I spend over $100 on shoes. I figure I can train in the 11s for a while and switch to the 12s if I feel I need a back up shoe. Right now my Asics will have to remain my back up. They still have a few miles left in them and I think they’ll do better in the snow.

My first run in the new shoes was a treadmill run. I wanted to wait until the snow melted before taking them outside. I should have gone out yesterday afternoon, because it was sunny and the snow had melted, but it wasn’t logistically possible with Kiddo. It snowed again this morning, so the new shoes will have to remain treadmill shoes for a bit longer. On Sunday it’s supposed to be 50º, so maybe it will be possible to go outside then. Either way I’m happy to have a new pair of shoes. It seems to give me more motivation!

And speaking of snow…Kiddo and I have been enjoying watching it fall all morning. I’m sure he doesn’t know what to think of it!

2 thoughts on “maiden voyage

  1. Pingback: morning treadmill run « runbobbierun

  2. Pingback: winter wear « run.bobbie.run

Thanks for stopping! I love to hear your comments :)

